Armed and unarmed applicants should both get a Washington security license. They have to be eligible and complete the necessary training. Licensing Department (DOL) is in charge of administering the process. This article touches on the previously mentioned steps and more.
Unarmed officers have to be at least 18 or older. Also, they have to be citizens of the U.S. or resident aliens. Work authorization, according to the DOL, is not comparable to the temporary status of alien residents and is insufficient. Consequently, they don’t officially have registration unless they’ve accepted a job offer.
You can get a refusal for a permit based on criminal history, however, not all offenses are disqualifying.
An approved trainer must provide pre-assignment preparation for applicants for a minimum of 8 hours. In-house education is another option. The following topics are on pre-assignment learning:
A person with previous experience may have permission to pass the test.
Post-assignment preparation for 8 extra hours is essential. The following topics are in post-assignment courses:
Following that, the officer needs to complete a refresher course for 4 hours each 12 months.
After completing pre-assignment education and applying, you may obtain a permanent card of registration.
These officers, like in Nevada, have to be at least 21 years old. In addition, they require a weapons license (from separate authorities).
First, you seek the permit. The next step is seeking the assistance of a trainer. The potential safeguard needs to obtain authorization from the Commission of Training for Criminal Justice in Washington State (WSCJTC). At the end of the training, you will pass a written exam.
After you satisfied all conditions, the firm needs to apply for a weapons certificate. And it is organization-specific. In addition, there’s a charge of $100.
There is a yearly requalification necessary for armed officers. You don’t need to renew it.
To change weapons, a “change/add” form is necessary. If you switch from one firm to another, you also have to fill in the “change/add” form as well.
Employees of safety companies may expect their employers to be in the licensure procedure. Criminal history checks based on fingerprints are essential in this stage. Prior to applying for a permit, you must complete this procedure. Note that the fingerprint record is part of the package of the application.
If you commit a felony (besides a traffic infraction), court documents must be provided.
Forms of applications are available for download on the department’s website. The cost is $111 for unarmed officers. The DOL charges an extra $10 fee for an armed permit.
The principal of the company needs to be 21 years or older. He/she obtains certification by test or experience.
Administrative, supervisory, or managerial security experience or a similar sector is acceptable by the licensing body. If you qualify based on experience, you’ll need to work for at least 36 mounts. But an applicant who lacks the necessary experience takes an exam.
You are going to pass the exam at the office of driver’s license in Washington. The cost equals $75. In general, you can pass the examination at several locations in the state, with candidates marking their 1st and 2nd choices. An agent will call you later to set up a time.
The price is $350 when both the business application and the primary application are filed simultaneously. The price for changing the principle of an established business is $100.